No KYC: one verified email, no ID · Paid in crypto: BTC, USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL, LTC · .ai $86.99/year
Language: English
Search a domain

Price history report · data of 2 November 2026

Have .ai, .io or .gg prices gone up?

A dated table of the registry wholesale price changes we could source for the extensions we sell, what they mean for a renewal, and how Pearlcay passes them on.

Last updated: · 8 min read

Quick answer

Have .ai, .io or .gg prices gone up?

Yes for .ai and .io, and we found no notice for .gg. The .ai registry raised its wholesale price from $70 to $80 a year on 5 March 2026, and .io goes from $50 to $56 on 19 January 2027. Pearlcay already prices the .io renewal on the 2027 wholesale, $62.99/year, and a .ai costs $86.99/year, paid in crypto with no KYC.

Wholesale rises in short

Next announced rise.io, $50 to $56 a year (+12%), on 19 January 2027
Latest rise in force.ai, $70 to $80 a year (+14%), on 5 March 2026
Earlier rise.co, $24 to $26 a year (+8%), on 1 April 2025
Extensions with a sourced notice.ai, .io, .co, .me, .sh, .ac
Extensions with no notice found for 2025 or 2026.gg, .sh, .so, .me, .tv, .cc, .vc, .ac, .fm, .ws, .pw, .la
Data date2 November 2026
LicenceCC BY 4.0: free to reuse with a link to this page

Which registry wholesale price changes have been announced?

Newest effective date first. The wholesale price is what a registrar pays the registry. It is not what you pay, but a registrar's price follows it.

Registry wholesale price changes for the extensions Pearlcay sells, in US dollars, as reported.
ExtensionOld and new wholesale priceChangeTakes effectReportedSource
.io$50 to $56 a year+12%19 January 202721 July 2026Domain Name Wire, from the notice Identity Digital sent registrars
.ai$70 to $80 a year ($140 to $160 for 2 years)+14%5 March 20262 February 2026Domain Name Wire; DomainIncite, 3 February 2026
.co$24 to $26 a year+8%1 April 20253 October 2024Domain Name Wire, from the GoDaddy Registry notice covering 26 extensions
.ioList price unchanged; the registry cut its rebateAbout +9% on registrationsJanuary 202428 March 2024Domain Name Wire
.meNot stated; Gandi's .me renewal went from $22.00 to $24.20+10%1 February 20215 January 2021Gandi, from the notice of the registry doMEn d.o.o.
.io, .sh, .acNot stated; Gandi's .io price went from $35.00 to $38.00About +10%1 January 201913 December 2018Gandi, from the registry's notice

Last checked on ; older figures carry their own date

Percentages are the change in the wholesale price. A registrar's own price can move by more or less. Where the notice gave no wholesale figure, the row shows the registrar's price change instead. On 2 November 2026, Cloudflare, which sells at cost, listed .co at $30.00, above the $26 of April 2025. That points to a later rise, but we found no registry notice for it, so it is not in the table.

Where does each extension we sell stand?

According to Pearlcay's count of 2 November 2026, 12 of the 15 extensions it sells show no registry price notice newer than 2021, and 9 show none at all. Cloudflare, which sells at cost, carries 9 of the 15. "None found" means we searched trade press and registrar notices up to 2 November 2026 and found no announcement. It does not mean a registry never changed its price, because some registries inform registrars only.

Latest sourced notice and the at-cost renewal price at Cloudflare, per extension.
ExtensionLatest notice we foundAt-cost price today (renewal)Note
.ai+14% on 5 March 2026$80.00Sold 2 years at a time
.io+12% due 19 January 2027$50.00Cloudflare shows $32.00 for the first year, struck through from $50.00
.ggNone foundNot sold thereRegistry: Island Networks Ltd
.shAbout +10% on 1 January 2019$45.00Shares its registry with .io and .ac
.soNone foundNot sold thereRegistry eligibility rules are disputed
.co+8% on 1 April 2025$30.00The $30 is above the $26 wholesale price of April 2025
.me+10% on 1 February 2021$16.56Registry: doMEn d.o.o.
.tvNone found$25.00Operator: GoDaddy Registry
.ccNone found$8.00Operator: Verisign
.vcNone foundNot sold thereIdentity Digital runs the technical side
.acAbout +10% on 1 January 2019$45.00Shares its registry with .io and .sh
.fmNone found$85.00Premium names are priced separately
.wsNone foundNo at-cost price foundRegistrars advertise low first years
.pwNone foundNo at-cost price foundRegistrars advertise low first years
.laNone foundNo at-cost price foundSome names are registry premiums

Last checked on ; older figures carry their own date

At-cost prices read on Cloudflare's search page on 2 November 2026. Extension pages: .ai, .io, .gg, .sh, .so, .co, .me, .tv, .cc, .vc, .ac, .fm, .ws, .pw, .la.

What does a wholesale rise mean for my renewal?

It raises the cost of every renewal paid after the effective date. Whether you see it depends on your registrar.

The arithmetic is simple. A .ai rise of $10 a year is $20 for each 2-year block and $100 over 10 years. A .io rise of $6 a year is $60 over 10 years.

Timing can help. Domain Name Wire noted that .ai owners could avoid the March 2026 rise by renewing before 5 March. Openprovider says .com renewals completed before 1 November 2026 were billed at the old fee. Each registrar decides what it does with a renewal paid early, so read its terms first.

A term you have already paid for keeps the price you paid. A rise only reaches the next term you buy.

How does Pearlcay pass on a wholesale rise?

Our price list of 2 November 2026 is built on the wholesale prices in force or announced on that date.

  • .io: the renewal price, $62.99/year, already includes the rise to $56 a year on 19 January 2027. The first year costs $35.99/year.
  • .ai: the price, $86.99/year, is set after the rise of 5 March 2026 and is the same for the first year and every renewal. The first order is $173.98 because the registry sells 2 years at a time.
  • Other extensions: the grid shows the current price, dated 2 November 2026, with the renewal next to the first year. The pricing page always shows the grid in force.

Renewals are paid from your balance, and automatic renewal is automatic renewal from your balance, switched on or off for each domain. Unused balance stays on your account and never expires, and it pays for new domains, renewals and transfers. When a purchase costs less than the minimum top-up, the part added only to reach the minimum is refundable on request to support within 30 days of the payment, in USDT or USDC, as long as it has not been spent. The rest of the balance is not paid back, except where the law requires it. Keep enough on the balance for the next term, for example $173.98 for a .ai.

How often do registries raise prices?

In the notices we found, .io appears three times in eight years: about 10% in January 2019, an effective 9% on registrations in January 2024, and 12% in January 2027. The .ai, .co and .me each appear once. The list is not exhaustive, so treat it as a floor, not a count.

For scale, Verisign's wholesale fee for a .com rose 7% on 1 November 2026, from $10.26 to about $10.98, under the cap in its agreement with ICANN (Openprovider, 9 September 2026). We do not sell .com. Read why a .ai costs so much for what the 2026 rise means for a buyer.

Can I reuse this table?

Yes. The price history is published under CC BY 4.0. Copy the tables, quote the figures, build on them. Credit "Pearlcay domain price increases, 2 November 2026" and link to this page.

The figures come from the sources below, on the dates shown. If you find a notice we missed, the source is what we need to add it.

Domain price increases: questions

Have .ai prices gone up?

Yes. The registry raised its wholesale price from $70 to $80 a year on 5 March 2026, which is +14%. A first order is 2 years: $160 at the registry and $173.98 at Pearlcay, paid in crypto with no KYC.

Is the .io price going up in 2027?

Yes. Identity Digital told registrars the wholesale price goes from $50 to $56 a year on 19 January 2027, which is +12%. Our .io renewal, $62.99/year, already includes it. See the .io page for the rules.

Have .gg prices gone up?

We found no registry notice for 2025 or 2026. A .gg costs $57.99/year at Pearlcay, one year at a time, with the same price at renewal. Read the .gg page before you order.

Do I pay the new price on a domain I already own?

On the next term you buy after the effective date, yes, unless your registrar absorbs the rise. A term you have already paid for keeps its price.

Where can I see today's prices?

The pricing page and each extension page show the grid dated 2 November 2026, with the first-year, renewal and transfer price side by side.

Check the renewal price before you register

A .io at $35.99/year, renewal $62.99/year. A .ai at $86.99/year. No ID, paid in crypto.

Sources (9)
  1. .io price increase (21 July 2026) — Domain Name Wire (checked 2026-11-02)
  2. .ai domain name prices going up (2 February 2026) — Domain Name Wire (checked 2026-11-02)
  3. .ai hits seven figures, raises prices (3 February 2026) — DomainIncite (checked 2026-11-02)
  4. Identity Digital prices go up tomorrow, GoDaddy Registry plans next price hike (3 October 2024) — Domain Name Wire (checked 2026-11-02)
  5. .io is not raising prices (28 March 2024) — Domain Name Wire (checked 2026-11-02)
  6. Price increase on .me domain on February 1, 2021 (5 January 2021) news.gandi.net/en/2021/01/price-increase-on-me-domain-on-february-1-2021 — Gandi (checked 2026-11-02)
  7. Prices are increasing for .io, .ac and .sh (13 December 2018) news.gandi.net/en/2018/12/prices-are-increasing-for-io-ac-and-sh — Gandi (checked 2026-11-02)
  8. What the .com price increase in 2026 means for your domain portfolio (9 September 2026) openprovider.com/blog/com-price-increase-domain-resellers — Openprovider (checked 2026-11-02)
  9. Domain search: name.ai, name.io, name.co, name.sh, name.me, name.tv, name.cc, name.ac, name.fm (at-cost prices) — Cloudflare (checked 2026-11-02)

.ai $86.99/year · no KYC · crypto

Search a domain